Ilaiyaraaja's Cyclic Interludes

About 5 years back, I posted 6 of Ilaiyaraaja's cyclic interludes in this blog. By cyclic interlude, I am referring to an interlude (or prelude) which starts with a specific phrase, then meanders around and then returns to that same phrase before starting the charanam (or  pallavi).

I then noticed 7 other songs with similar pattern. So I compiled all 13 of them into a single track starting from the oldest (as per the release date). This technique/pattern has been used by Ilaiyaraaja even recently in a song from Dhoni. Go ahead and listen to the cyclic interludes below:

Here are the songs featured in the above track:
  1. Idhazhil Kadhai from Unnal Mudiyum Thambi
  2. Sivarathiri from Michael Madhana Kama Rajan
  3. Kuyil Paatu (Happy) from En Raasavin Manasile
  4. Kuyil Paatu (Sad) from En Raasavin Manasile
  5. Povoma from Chinna Thambi
  6. Oh Butterfly from Meera
  7. Ellorum Sollum Paatu from Marubadiyum
  8. Ennavendru Solvadhama from Raajakumaaran
  9. Piraye from Pithamagan
  10. Ilaimaikku Oru from Oru Naal Oru Kanavu
  11. Malle Puvvu from Malle Puvvu
  12. Yaarum Thodatha from Ajantha
  13. Vaangum Panathukkum from Dhoni
And as an experiment, here is another version after excluding the music in between the repeating phrases. Even though the interlude is shortened, you won't find the flow missing. Listen to the first clip posted above and then listen to the one below.

There could be more such songs. If you come across any other song, leave a comment.